The National Leadership of the United Democratic Movement elected at the Party’s 5th National Congress held on 11, 12 and 13 December 2015


Mr Bantu Holomisa, MP

Bantubonke Holomisa was born the son of Tembu Chief Bazindlovu Holomisa on 25 July 1955 in the Mqanduli district of Transkei. After attending the Upper Ngqungqu Primary School in Mqanduli, he proceeded to the Jongilizwe College for the Sons of Chiefs and Headmen in Tsolo, Transkei, where he matriculated in 1975. Apart from the usual matriculation subjects, he obtained an additional Diploma in Leadership, with the subjects of current events, conduct of public affairs, public administration, English, African law (then called Bantu law, using the university-prescribed textbook by Seymore on the subject), typing and office routine.

He has served as the Deputy Minister of Environment and Tourism of South Africa in the Government of National Unity (elected in 1994).

Major General (Retired) Bantu Holomisa co-founded the United Democratic Movement in 1997 with Mr Roelf Meyer. Mr Holomisa serves as the UDM’s President.

To learn more about Bantu Holomisa, please click here.

Mr Nqabayomzi Kwankwa, MP

Mr Kwankwa was unanimously elected to the position of Deputy-President of the UDM at the Party’s National Council on 3 December 2016 after a vacancy arose. He currently serves as a Member of the National Assembly for the UDM and is the Party’s Chief Whip.


Mr Zolisa Lavisa
National Chairperson

Mr Mncedisi Filtane, MP
National Deputy-Chairperson

We are sad to announce that Mr Filtane had passed away in November 2020 due to Covid-19. May his soul rest in peace.

The late Mncedisi Filtane hailed from the Eastern Cape and matriculated from Clarkebury High School. After school, he had shown interest in the legal profession, but ultimately found himself (over a long professional career) in the private sector in various management and sales positions.

During his tenure at the Transkei Government, Mr Filtane had worked with land matters, which had included the allocation of land and conflict resolution between various stakeholders.

As an employee of the Ntinga OR Tambo Development Agency, Mr Filtane had been part of a team that had developed agricultural cooperatives and had been awarded the honour of Team Builder of the Year in 2007. He was a born networker and had effectively used this skill at his various places of employ and in his work in the name of the United Democratic Movement (UDM).

Mr Filtane had also been a successful entrepreneur and most notable of these endeavours had been his passion to create sustainable community-driven projects such as the facilitation of the building of schools and the provision of water and sanitation to the Lambasi Dairy in the OR Tambo District. Mr Filtane had been a skilled manager and had, over the years, managed millions of Rands worth of community projects and local initiatives.

He had been no stranger to the electoral system in South Africa and had discharged duties for the Independent Electoral Commission in the 1994 and 1999 National and Provincial Elections in South Africa, as well as the 2000 Municipal Elections.

From 2014 to 2019, Mr Filtane had served the Party as a Member of the National Assembly. His very wide experience in business (from multi-level to retail), had been something that had come in handy in the execution of his Parliamentary duties when analysing complex business-related reports on Agriculture and Rural Development.

In 2019 National and Provincial Elections, he had been elected to represent the UDM as a Member of the Provincial Legislature in the Eastern Cape.

Mr Filtane had been elected to the position of National Deputy-Chairperson of the UDM in December 2015, at the Party’s National Congress in Bloemfontein. By virtue of his office, he had been responsible for any disciplinary cases elevated to national level.


Mr Bongani Msomi
Secretary General (office) (personal)

Bongani Msomi was born in Durban and matriculated at Swelihle High School in Umlazi, KwaZulu Natal. He obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree, Senior Teacher’s Diploma and Bachelor of Education (B-ED) from the University of Zululand. He also holds a Project Management Diploma from Damelin.

As a student he became involved in politics and was tasked to build and organise several progressive organisations. Mr Msomi is a co-founder member of the UDM and has served as the leader of the Province in KwaZulu-Natal for many years. In 2004 he became a member of the KwaZulu-Natal Legislature (MPL) until 2009. In this period he served in many portfolio committees as well as being chairperson of the Sports and Recreation portfolio committee.

In 2005 he was elected as the Party’s National Chairperson and he is currently serving as the Secretary General after his election to this position at the Party’s National Congress in December 2010 and his re-election 2015.

Mr Bongani Maqungwana
Deputy-Secretary General

Cllr Thandi Nontenja
National Treasurer

Thandi Nontenja grew up in Mount Frere in the Eastern Cape and matriculated at the Colana High School in Mount Frere. Cllr Nontenja has several diplomas in bookkeeping, accounting and business management, as well as political leadership. She ended her career in the business sector when she was elected as a city councillor for the United Democratic Movement of the Johannesburg Metropolitan Council in 2006, 2011 and 2016. Cllr Nontenja has been very active in women’s organisations and is a member of People Opposing Women Abuse. She was re-elected as the National Treasurer of the UDM in 2015.

Mr Johannes Rapetsoa
National Fundraiser

Mr Rapetsoa had been unanimously elected to the position of National Fundraiser of the UDM at the Party’s National Council on 3 December 2016 after a vacancy had arisen.

We sadly lost Mr Rapetsoa in May 2020 after a long sick-bed. May his soul rest in peace.

Mr Bongani Phenyane
National Organiser

We unfortunately lost Mr Bongani Phenyane after a short illness in June 2020. May his soul rest in peace.

The late Mr Bongani Phenyane hailed from Johannesburg (Gauteng). He had joined the United Democratic Movement (UDM) in 1997, in its inception year, and had steadily risen through the Party’s leadership ranks.

He had initially served as a branch organiser and chairperson, as well as regional organiser in Johannesburg  from 1998 to 2001. In 2005, he had been elected to the position of Provincial Deputy-Chairperson of the UDM in Gauteng. He had later made a successful bid to become the Party’s National Organiser at its National Congress in 2015. As National Organiser, he had been a full-time National Office Bearer of the Party located at its National Office in Pretoria.

Bongani had been very active in his community and had served on the school governing body of Sebetsa-O-Tholemoputso Secondary School in Doornkop, which is close to Dobsonville (Johannesburg). He had been the project manager of the non-profit Sihlangene Drop-in Centre. He had also been involved in a project where vegetables had been bi-weekly supplied to needy families, as well as a mini-feeding scheme that had daily benefited sixty learners.

Mr Phenyane had participated in the Community Policing Forum from 2006 to 2010 in the Doornkop area and had served as Ward Chairperson of Ward 50, Johannesburg,

Mr Phenyane had been an avid soccer fan and had supported Orlando Pirates.

Mr Moyiseli Nkcinkca
National Deputy-Organiser

Mr James Ndlovu
National Deputy-Organiser