statement by NMP Spokesperson

Five councillors serving on the Graaff-Reinet Transitional Representative Council, pledged their support to the New Movement Process yesterday. In this council, 5 of the 6 members are now supporting the NMP, making the New Movement Process the majority grouping in the TRC.

It is therefore the first local council in the country with a NMP majority. The councillors have previously been on the ticket of the Graaff-Reinet Alliance, which has won the local election with a 71% majority.

The members are:
Johan Malherbe, TRC Chairperson
Pierre le Grange, TRC Vice-chairperson
Peet van Heerden
Ms Pat Wallis
Ernest Job

In Somerset East, Christoffel Schoeman, chairman of the National Party District Council has resigned from the NP last week and joined the NMP. His secretary, Mr Gert Els, has also resigned and joined the NMP yesterday.